P3Steel Variant

An old buddy of mine asked me on Sunday which reprap I recommend these days… Always a dangerous discussion to head down right?

Well, I won’t bore you with too much of the detail, but those who has been following me for a long time know’s I have access to a large metal laser cutting/bending factory (see videos here, here and here)



(and for those of you only following me on WordPress, do checkout my Youtube Channel, About.me page, Github, Facebook etc as well.  I rarely crosspost so best to follow me everywhere)

So seeing as I have these at my disposal, I figured, then the P3Steel should be the best Reprap for me to recommend right? (;

But a day or two later, as these things go – before I could even send in the files to get manufactured, we started adding things, deleting things. Merging in ideas from other sources

Soon ending up with this:

Screenshot from 2015-12-08 12-27-33.png

  • Removed the truss like cutouts – adds a lot of cost to laser time, and I am not shipping these (only cutting two for Isak) – so weight is not an issue
  • Added the Metal Xends and X Carriage from http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:157303
  • Added the press-fit M3 nuts from (can’t find source link now 😦 – will post later) on the the Y carriage for bed mounting
  • Added dual mount holes for steppers for Bowden and Added a Dual hotend X carriage plate that I drew up
  • Added Spool holder from http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:463371

DXF is is on  https://github.com/openhardwarecoza/P3Steel-ZA

Will post pics once the cut parts gets back from the factory!

